today’s repo: privacy and the social networking sphere

Posted: February 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’m exhausted. Just a preface.

I deleted Twitter today. I acknowledge that for some it may serve a greater purpose, but I also acknowledge that for me–it is just another distraction, allowing me to spend my minutes not researching a fact or an idea but living someone else’s life for those moments, taking in generally not productive comments or higher ideas but delighting morbidly on drama and gossip. IF I do join again, I’m not following anyone I know; it will only serve as a news feed.

I deleted almost all of my personal information off of Facebook. This may not sound like anything much but it symbolizes some things for me: no need to update current trending tastes, let everyone know who I am and what I like; no need to sell myself or my ideas; symbolic of taking back my privacy.

I’m not attention-starved; living my life in a showcase is not necessary and living life from comment to comment is not something which I would like to rely on. I am working toward attaining independent thought and conviction as praise, approval and flattery are my weaknesses–conversely: DEconstructive criticism, catty attacks, and overall disapproval affect me more than I wish they would.

And so, I take up logging my activity to better understand it. This coming week, I gather data. I will create a worksheet and log my activity. I will review said activity each night and assess.

Must end…headache mutiny.

Leave a comment