money monster

Posted: August 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

Well … hello again.

So, I graduated. I walked the stage. I made a bit of a fool of myself, and I let myself go a bit …

Much, and at the same time not much, has happened since then.

Money is an issue and I’ve found that the pressures of money-engagements lead many good people into misery; they sell themselves in order to keep afloat.

I’m not saying money is a bad thing. I’m saying money is a hazardous thing and we should be careful with the agreements we make with it.

Personally, I have carelessly made too many financial engagements. I’m not going to blame it on anyone, or even my youth or my “biochemical challenges”; I’ll take full responsibility and attribute my foolishness with pride. I heard the warnings. I’m an intelligent person. I just have (still) not fully grasped the concept that

it takes many small drops to fill a jug.

As a result, I sold my soul again: to a corporation. Worse: to a call center. A call center for a phone company that I personally switched services away from a little over a year ago because the service was … well … truly terrible. I live in a city with a remarkable high unemployment rate, a city that was once a booming industry but has begun a steep economic spiral downwards due to outsourcing. But that in itself is a completely different subject. The point is:

That call center, for a company I pretty strongly have personal qualms with, is the easiest full-time job to currently attain in the decaying city in which I live.

We’ll leave it at: I no longer work there.

Sometimes I wonder whether that fact isn’t positive … but at the end of the day? I am glad.

I don’t think I can even count a handful of people that agree with me on this matter. Most people offer the judgment that they don’t know hardly anyone that enjoys their job and I need to suck it up and “do what I’ve gotta do.”

I am too talented and valuable and young to get on the rat-race treadmill just yet.

The pressures of monetary engagements are still upon me but I’ve come to the realization that I am fortunate to be a bit more creative with my money-earning: I can pull a couple of part-time jobs that I’m actually interested in and believe in at this juncture.

I will keep you updated on the outcome.

Love yourself and your life. It’s never too late to repo; it just may require some extra work and creativity. Believe it. You must.

Leave a comment